Friday 22 November 2019

Hornby Scholarships for TESOL Masters in the UK 2020-2021

The A.S. Hornby Educational Trust scholarships are awarded every year to English language teachers from outside the UK to study for Masters in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL) at the University of Warwick. The Trust was set up by A.S. Hornby in 1961 to support English language teaching worldwide.
A.S. Hornby had a distinguished career in English language teaching and developed the Oxford Advanced Learners’ Dictionary. The Trust is a registered charity in the UK.
The deadline for application for the A.S. Hornby Scholars is 12.00 midday UK time on Saturday 30 November 2019. Visit for more information.

Assessment Research Awards and Grants

The British Council Assessment Research Awards and Grants are for individuals working in the field of research and assessment. These awards recognise achievement and innovation in language assessment. Aimed at both research students and more experienced researchers, the awards are in four categories:

a. Assessment Research Grants
The Assessment Research Grants contribute to innovation in assessment practice, as well as to the validation of Aptis and other British Council assessment projects. Projects that are more exploratory in nature and utilise instruments other than Aptis will be considered provided these demonstrate potential for impact in language assessment.
For detailed information, please visit:
b. Assessment Research Awards
The Assessment Research Awards assist doctoral level research students (PhD/EdD) in their data collection, analysis activities or in presenting their work at an international conference. Applicants should detail how the award will contribute to the completion of the student’s work, or details of the paper for presentation at the conference. A number of awards will be available on an annual basis, to a maximum value of £2,500 per award.
For detailed information, please visit:
c. International Assessment Award

Nominated by his/her peers in the area of assessment, the International Assessment Award is made to an individual working for the promotion of excellence in language assessment on the international stage. It will consist of a formal citation and an honorarium of £1,000. Nominations will be judged by a panel of language assessment experts.

For detailed information, please visit:

d. Innovation in Assessment Prize
The Innovation in Assessment Prize complements the British Council ELTons Awards and celebrates innovation in language testing and assessment. The winner will receive £1,000. The prize will be made to an individual or organisation in the areas of: innovative practices in test delivery, innovative practices in test administration, technical innovation in scoring or delivery, innovative item or task development and innovative application of applied linguistics or second language acquisition research to language assessment.
For detailed information, please visit:

All applications for the Assessment Research Awards and Grants close on 04 February 2020. Details are on our website:

Notes to Editor

Contact person: Mike Cabigon at

About the British Council

The British Council is the UK’s international organisation for cultural relations and educational opportunities. We work with over 100 countries in the fields of arts and culture, English language, education and civil society. Last year we reached over 80 million people directly and 791 million people overall including online, broadcasts and publications. We make a positive contribution to the countries we work with – changing lives by creating opportunities, building connections and engendering trust. Founded in 1934 we are a UK charity governed by Royal Charter and a UK public body. We receive 15 per cent core funding grant from the UK government.