The Bangsamoro community policing project supports the introduction of community policing in seven provinces (North Cotabato, Maguindanao, Lanao del Sur, Lanao del Norte, Basilan, Sulu and Tawi-Tawi) of the conflict-affected Bangsamoro region.
Working with multi-stakeholders, the project aims to:
  • facilitate change in the cultural relations between communities to prepare the Philippine National Police and the people in the Bangsamoro region for community policing
  • contribute in building a culture of community-driven policing in the Bangsamoro to complement with existing peace-building efforts
  • prepare communities for the introduction of community policing by increasing their awareness on the topic and enhancing their meaningful participation as to how this can look like such that it will benefit them.
The final output is a community policing strategy/blueprint and toolkit for use by relevant stakeholders and affected communities.

In this section