British Council

The internationalisation of South Manila Educational Consortium (SMEC) began in 2016. SMEC expands the international engagement portfolios of member institutions by building their capacity in internationalisation and linking them with their UK counterparts.
At the national level, SMEC institutions internationalise higher education for strategic alliances, social and cultural development, as well as human resource development.
A globally-oriented, internationally-competitive faculty, personnel, and research will contribute to SMEC’s goal of being an education hub in the region.
The SMEC-UK engagements are expected to produce a range of international projects such as research collaboration, faculty exchange, student mobility, innovative degree and certificate programmes and joint conferences.

About SMEC

SMEC is a group of 12 higher educational institutions in Manila. They collaborate to effect social transformation by promoting education and making quality and relevant learning accessible to as many as possible.
Members include:
     • Adamson University
     • De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde
     • De La Salle University
     • Emilio Aguinaldo College
     • Lyceum of the Philippines University
     • Philippine Christian University
     • Philippine Normal University-Manila
     • Philippine Women’s University
     • Santa Isabel College Manila
     • St. Paul University-Manila
     • St. Scholastica’s College
     • University of the Philippines-Manila